ECOWAS Regional Competition Authority

In 2007, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) adopted a Regional Competition Policy Framework (RCPF), articulating the purpose and basic principles of competition law and its many benefits to the Community Market and the regional integration process.


The RCPF reported on the state of competition law in the region at the time and the conditions for implementing and enforcing competition principles within ECOWAS.


Following the RCPF, the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government enacted two key legislations in 2008 that would establish the framework for regional competition regulation. The first was Supplementary Act A/SA.1/12/08 adopting the Community Competition Rules and the modalities for their application within ECOWAS. The second was Supplementary Act A/SA.2/12/ 08 on the establishment, functions, and operation of the ECOWAS Regional Competition Authority (ERCA). The adoption of the Competition Rules and establishment of ERCA are essential steps toward achieving market efficiency, economic growth, and integration in West Africa which are fundamental objectives of ECOWAS.



In 2014, the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government granted the government of The Gambia hosting rights for ERCA. The formal launching of ERCA took place in May 2019, following a meeting of the Technical Committee of Trade and Competition Experts in Banjul, the Gambia. ERCA commenced operations in May 2019, with Mrs. Henrietta Didigu as the Acting Executive Director.

Why Join CIGRE

ERCA Complaint
Management System

Introducing the authoritative source

Introducing ERCA
Statistical System